Archive for December 11, 2009

Chocs + Vanilla + Orange = Happiness

One of my business partners threw an order yesterday for some cakes she’ll bring to her Lola tomorrow.  Pick up time was tonight. Her orders: 2 chiffon cakes and two fudge brownies. With less than 12 hours preparation (from morning to afternoon), it was a bit of a challenge. For one,  though for a time a few years ago, I was making brownies almost every day, I haven’t made brownies in more than a year. My taste for cakes at the moment is geared towards dense pound cakes. As for the chiffon cake, well, I have only made chiffon cakes twice in the past, so this was  certainly going to be a challenge.

Since I did not bring with me cake boxes from Manila, I was a bit worried how to pack the cakes. Thankfully, I found the only baker’s supply shop in Davao: Baker’s Best in Tionko St. Went there early today to buy the boxes. Got a bonus too, since the Callebaut Chipits (chocolate chips) and a few of Callebaut’s semi-sweet bars were on sale!  Got them at only 30% the normal price! The expiration date  of the stuffs on sale was January 2010, but I know that the goodies I’ll make with the chocs won’t even last till Christmas haha so yes, I was very elated! I thought, what a great send-off to a busy baking day.

Because my oven was pretty small,  I had to bake the stuffs in batches. It took me the whole afternoon to bake all four cakes. Sigh. I’m counting the days till I get my hands on the big (well at least bigger than the normal, home ovens) oven.

For, the brownie I used the ever-reliable Baker’s One Bowl Brownie as my base recipe. I  then concocted a white chocolate+whipped cream frosting which I drizzled over the brownies.

For the orange chiffon cake, I based my recipe loosely on  The Joy of Baking recipe with some substitutions.  For the frosting,  I sealed the crumbs thinly with the leftover frosting from the brownies, then made a vanilla + reddi whip + milk frosting for the cake.

Here are the results:

Round Orange Chiffon Cake with Vanilla Frosting

Square Orange Chiffon Cake with Vanilla Frosting

Rustic Brownies

Today’s Mission…Accomplished!

December 11, 2009 at 9:23 PM Leave a comment


CALENDAR

December 2009
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031