Archive for December 5, 2009

Goin’ Bananas

What do you do when you  need to prepare a feast for 20 people with short notice. Me? I went bananas! Or to be accurate about it, I checked on what was available in the kitchen (bananas! lots of it from Sultan Kudarat) and decided,  I’ll scrap the old boring salad for dessert and instead make a banana cream pie! But then, I saw my spanking new mini-tart pans and decided, well, why not make them individually sized  for easy munching? (Okay, Full disclosure here. I’m opening a small Pie Shop soon, and what greater way to get product feedback than a party? !).  So here are the finished products:

Oh and I made everything from scratch. From the pastry shell, to the pudding. I was out of heavy cream so instead of piping out whipped cream, I topped the  mini-pies with chocolate shavings.

Verdict: Pretty good! The pudding was delish! The chocolate shavings were a bit sweet though, next time I’ll use a more bitter choc. or perhaps just top the pie with whipped cream, as was my original plan.

RECIPE  tweaked from:  RecipeZaar’s Old Fashioned Banana Cream Pie

December 5, 2009 at 3:29 AM Leave a comment


CALENDAR

December 2009
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031